Фикус / Ficus 

Home Ficusweb.ru

Ficus trees

Ficus is the most numerous genus of the family Moraceae. The first scientific record of the genus was made by swedish naturalist Carl Linnaeus (1707-1778) in 1753 in his monumental work "Species plantarum" with the description of following species: Ficus benghalensis, Ficus carica, Ficus indica, Ficus pumila, Ficus racemosa, Ficus religiosa and Ficus sycomorus. According to various botanical sources, the genus includes 800-1000 species of evergreen and leaf-fall trees, shrubs and woody vines that grow in tropical and subtropical regions of different continents - Africa, Asia, America and Australia.
The family Moraceae numbers of 75 genus, including Antiaris, Artocarpus, Brosimum, Broussonetia, Maclura, Morus, and 2500-3000 plant species.

Biological classification
Regnum Plantae or Vegetabilia
Subregnum Embryobionta or Telomobionta
Divisio Magnoliophyta or Angiospermae
Class Magnoliopsida or Dicotyledoneae
Subclass Dilleniales
Ordo Rosales (Urticales)
Familia Moraceae
Genus Ficus
Subgenus Ficus
Species Ficus a-z, about 800-1000
Ficus ginseng

Leaves of different species vary widely in size, shape and color. But Ficus is easy to identify. All parts of it contain white milk, which exudes by any damage. Milk of some species was used for the rubber production in the past.
The inflorescence is called syconium. It is spherical or pear-shaped, hollow, with a hole at the top and formed in the axils of leaves on the branches or on the trunk. Small flowers, seeds and fruits are formed on the inner surface of the inflorescence. Syconiums of some species of ficus are used as food for people and cattle.
The fig's system of pollination is unique. Each species has its own pollinator wasp of the family Agaonidae.

  Rambler's Top100 © ficusweb.ru